Global Guest Blogging at its Best

So Long, Andy – Thanks for Everything

In Andy Griffith, Guest Blogger on July 8, 2012 at 12:01 am

I am very pleased to introduce my guest blogger for the week,  author Liz Flaherty. Liz gives us her own accolade to the late, great and much-loved Andy Griffith, whom I am sure many will mourn the passing of.                   

I have changed my mind about the subject for this post every day for a solid week. It could be, Amelia said, anything I feel passionate about. No limitations.

Oh, easy peasy. I’m a romance writer—I incorporate passion into all my books. I’ve been married for 41 years and you Author Liz Flaherty - Guest Blogger on Amelia Curzon's Blog - "Carte Blanche"don’t achieve that without passion—well, maybe you can, but I don’t think it would be a lot of fun. I’ve been visiting my kids in Vermont. There you go. I’m passionate about my family. I’m even passionate about Vermont—I think congress should declare it the National Post Card.

But something happened the week I was in Vermont. Andy Griffith died at the age of 86. The world’s most beloved sheriff, creator of the small town everybody wished had been their own, arguably the best oh-shucks humorist since the days of Will Rogers, has left the world a better place because he was here.

I don’t really know all that much about Andy Griffith, the man. I read that he lost a son to an overdose, so he knew life’s most indescribable pain. He was married three times and divorced twice, so he understood failure. He had health issues that remind us no one’s body is immune to weakness from within.  He had strong faith and gave it free and joyous rein in an award-winning recording of hymns.

That’s enough for me to know. His personal life is after all none of my business. His professional life is the one that gave us all gifts. Like these:

When a man carries a gun all the time, the respect he thinks he’s getting might really be fear. So I don’t carry a gun because I don’t want the people of Mayberry to fear a gun. I’d rather they respect me.

Daylight’s precious when you’re a youngun.

…don’t the trees seem nice and full?

Sheriff Andy Taylor, his most famous role, gave us eating ice cream and singing gentle songs on the porch, celebrating Christmas in the jailhouse, and admitting when he was wrong. He was a comic who acted the part of the straight man because it was what was good for the show. Good for the people who watched it. Who have watched it for 50 years and still counting.

And he wasn’t St. Andy. He was a man who suffered, failed, sinned and been redeemed by his faith. He was forever and ever one of us, no better and no worse. Yes, it was his acting he shared with us, but the line between personal and professional blurred for most of us. We just loved Andy. And we thank him. Passionately.

Biography

Life is new and wonderful for writer Liz Flaherty these days. She retired from the post office in 2011, promptly gained 15 pounds—she swears it was overnight—and promised her grandchildren, The Magnificent Seven, that she would make each of them a bed-size quilt. She also planned to write all day, every day.

What was she thinking?

She’s learned to write when she feels like it, sew when she feels like it, and maybe even to eat a little less. She’s learned to share the house and sometimes even the kitchen with Duane, her husband of, oh, lots of years.

And she’s having a Very, Very Good Time.

One More Summer by Liz Flaherty on AmazonHer fifth book ONE MORE SUMMER, has been released to exciting reviews by Carina Press. She is thrilled to the point everyone she knows rolls their eyes as soon as she opens her mouth. The sixth, JAR OF DREAMS, will be out in January, and she hasn’t annoyed hardly anyone about that yet.

One More Summer is available  at:
Harlequin (Print version)  Carina Press (eBook)  Amazon (eBook)  Barnes and Noble (Nook Book)

Contact links:  lizkflaherty@gmail.com   Twitter   Facebook

  1. I used to love that show! I think most of the characters are gone now. Too bad they don’t make them like that anymore.

  2. Nice post about a special person. We still watch reruns of Andy Griffith, and I would watch Matlock if it was on. My mom and I used to watch it all the time. He was an actor be be admired, but as a man he made no bones about not being perfect. The same day he died, a friend of mine also passed away, so it was doubly sad. Let’s hope we always have Mayberry reruns to remind us of gentler times.

  3. Andy was like a second father to many of us older gen. Every time Opie learned a lesson, so did we. My own dad was a little physical in his teachings (We all got spankings…usually all 5 of us together) But life was so good and so safe for the most part back then. I thank God we got Andy and my Dad for as long as we did! Loved your post!

  4. Great post, Liz! I was so saddened by this man’s passing. He brought so much pleasure to so many people. A great achievement.

  5. Just his name makes me start whistling…if only there were more Mayberrys in this world and less of all the other….God rest his kind hearted soul.

  6. I never really got into mattock, but reruns of Mayberry were on every Saturday night when I was a kid…my older brother and I would watch by the hour. That brings back memories…I will miss Andy…

  7. Hi, Folks!!! I adore the Andy Griffith Show. 🙂 One of the great posts I saw recently on Facebook, after his passing, was this: “The world could use a lot more Mayberry and a lot less Jersey Shore.” That statement gets a resounding AMEN from this neck of the woods!

  8. Thanks for having me, Amelia!

  9. I loved him in Mayberry but Matlock was my fave! As a child I lived in a small Southern town for a year and Mayberry sort of took me back…but I love murder mysteries and Law shows… I loved your post and all the things/people you are passionate about!
    Thanks for sharing.

  10. Welcome to my blog, Liz, and thank you for kindly being my guest. I love this post even though, although I had heard of him, I did not really know too much about Andy Griffith until I read this. He was obviously very well-loved 🙂

We’d love to hear your thoughts on this post – why not share them!

